TO THE MARKET, TO THE MARKET, I SHALL GO

26 Jun

Tomorrow, I shall go to the local farmer’s market for the first time this summer. I’m lucky, because it’s a mere 8 min. drive from my home–give or take. It pales in size and ethnic diversity to Kaukab’s (and by default, mine) weekly jaunts to the famed West Side Market in my hometown of Cleveland Ohio, but it’s my market, and it’s a good little market, at that. The farmers always bring their best and are happy to share stories and family recipes with me, and I with them.

 I’ll be looking for some nice veggies to take home and roast.  I’ll roast just about anything, really.  As long as you’ve got olive oil, sea salt, and a pepper mill, you’re in business. Make sure your oven’s working.  “Oh, onions, potatoes, green and yellow and red peppers, eggplant…here I come!”  Pictures and recipes to follow–I promise.

3 Responses to “TO THE MARKET, TO THE MARKET, I SHALL GO”

  1. Agnes 06/26/2010 at 1:22 pm #

    I am so glad you mentioned the farmer’s market, because I’d forgotten again about ours. I walked down there and had a zucchini fritatta (sp?) for breakfast and bought some fresh veg and cheese made by our new local creamery. Very exciting to have a market and people seem to be attending it as well. Very nice!

    • mymotherstable 06/26/2010 at 5:20 pm #

      That sounds really yummy. What kind of cheese?

      P.S. Just got back from my local farmer’s market. I’ll be posting about it, very soon. More pictures!

      Kaukab’s daughter

  2. Agnes 06/27/2010 at 11:47 pm #

    Havarti, made fresh the night before. Delectable. Luckily I only bought a small one, because I ended up eating the whole thing before going to the movies in the evening. All 5 oz of it. I think 5 oz, psychologically, sounds quite modest. But for one person, well, it was probably more than I needed.

Leave a Reply

