There’s No “Fun” in Funerals

14 Jul

Monday’s funeral came and went. The day was lit with a beautiful sky. Good for the family, I believe. I think rain makes the grieving so much worse. The Greek Orthodox priest, whom I couldn’t see because we sat in the “spill over” room, chanted prayers without the cadence and vocal assurance of those I had grown up listening to. Maybe, it was because the Syrian Orthodox church I was raised in had a better chanters program. My Aunt Donna was married (50 years) to a Greek.  Which meant, the chanting priest was fab-u-lous.

Earlier that morning, I had managed to eat a sliver of kibbe (a Lebanese concoction of lean ground beef or lamb mixed with fine grain bulgar wheat, onions and spices, and baked–tastes far better than it sounds) and a cup of tea, thinking it’d be enough to hold me over until the after-burial reception that was customary of family funerals.  I was famished by the time we had arrived at the cemetery, the one where all her deceased siblings, including my dad, and parents resided. It was a lovely service. However, there was no after-the-funeral gathering where it is customary to offer food to the guests. I kept waiting for the funeral director’s announcement of such, but it never came.  Afterward, I was thinking  about why that was. I think it might have to do with the fact that, for the first time in our family, the deceased was the wife, thereby leaving a male to think about feeding others. It just wasn’t customary to expect the male to think about these things.

Hungry, we loaded ourselves into the van and left for home.  On the way, we stopped at a Sheetz and ate our funeral food on the ride home.

2 Responses to “There’s No “Fun” in Funerals”

  1. Lilly 07/17/2010 at 10:35 pm #

    You are a true friend, Diane, for not blogging about your lame friend who didn’t properly feed her foodie friend…

    • mymotherstable 07/18/2010 at 6:48 pm #

      Hey everybody, it’s my fellow apron-loving dearest pal, Lilly!

      So, I have to tell you that although my dear friend, Lilly, did not, in her words, ‘properly feed her foodie friend…’ she didn’t do so out of an un-generous spirit. For Lilly is anything but.

      Lilly had just completed a hosting job for her Eastern-European relatives, whom she had put up in her lovely home (remind me to tell sometime about her beautiful home and spectacular gardens–she’s a Master Gardnener) and had cooked enough for weeks. That, plus the fact that I had phoned her the day before arriving for The Funeral and would leave the next day.

      With that in mind, Lilly did feed us. A lovely plate of cheeses, sausages, and crackers, accompanied by wonderfully-tasty mint iced tea, out under a candelit canopy situated at one end of her home, overlooking her gardens.

      I’m telling you, this is the best way to ready oneself for a funeral.

      So, Lilly, can’t wait to see you next month for the big concert.

      Kaukab’s daughter

Leave a Reply

