My Own Melt

24 Aug

a quick fix

Home from work a bit earlier this evening. Violin girl out for the day/evening. Drummer/Driver boys fixed themselves some leftover ravioli, courtesy of Aldi frozen food department.  Thank you, Aldi. Hubby, in basement (his favorite spot) changing his bicycle tire, not yet ready to fix himself something–unbeknowst to him.

Since there didn’t seem the need to call on my magic cooking wand, I decided to make these sweet little tuna melts from the tuna salad I made for lunch earlier in the day.

Here’s what I used:

tuna salad made from: canned tuna (not glamorous, I admit), scallions, a few shakes of garlic salt, pinch of cayenne (or few drops of tabasco), couple tablespoons mayo, and a bit of freshly-squeezed lemon to taste. Sometimes, I’ll add finely chopped, summer-fresh pickling cucumbers or English ones, when out of season.

On English muffin halves: place your tuna salad, or one made with crab or salmon would be yummy. Add slice of summer sweet tomato to each half and cover with cheese. I used provolone, but havarti or gouda would be nice, too.

Place under broiler and broil until cheese melts and browns nicely.

Simple and tasty.

4 Responses to “My Own Melt”

  1. Agnes 08/24/2010 at 12:51 pm #

    Think I shall do some of these tonight. We have, tuna, cheese, fresh tomatoes from the garden. Tonight is a long way off, though.

    • mymotherstable 08/25/2010 at 4:50 am #

      How does your garden grow, Agnes? Sounds like it has fed you well.

      Me? I am thankful for my local farmers.

      P.S. Let me know what kind of cheese you use.

      Kaukab’s daughter

  2. Agnes 08/27/2010 at 3:21 pm #

    It has produced a lot of tomatoes; produced zucchini earlier in the summer, and quite a bit of corn. Although when it was producing the majority of its corn, I was really preoccupied so missed a lot of it.

    Now that we have a local creamery (hooray!) I buy most of my cheese from them. They do a very nice havarti. I think for the melt I used the ‘Cora’ which is a bit Swiss-ish I suppose. Was yummy.

    • mymotherstable 08/27/2010 at 10:23 pm #

      You’ll have to get some photogs of the creamery and I’ll post them here.

      Kaukab’s daughter

Leave a Reply

