Church Lady

29 Aug

Today I got cooking for our annual church potluck get-together, to bid farewell to lazy, hazy summer days and ring in the various autumnal events: school (this homeschooling mom is strangely filled with angst this year), Labor Day, and more school.

Luckily, our church is filled with cooks, such as yourselves, who like cooking up “different”  (some kids would say, “strange”) dishes, so I’m always hesitant to bring in some of mine, fearing they won’t measure up.  Sure, pun intended.

Here’s what I’m bringing:

Green beans and roasted potatoes w/lemon, dijon dressing

Pretty. Right?!  I think “driver boy” is getting better with his picture-taking skills. At least, today, he didn’t mind being called several times throughout the preparation to move away from his computer and set up these shots.

Here’s the finished product:

A New Twist on an Old Standard

If you’d like the recipe, you can find it in the ‘Table Menus’ section.

Off to see my church peeps. Right. Moms aren’t supposed to say “peeps.” So sorry.

6 Responses to “Church Lady”

  1. Kat 08/30/2010 at 1:20 am #

    What a lovely dish – I think roasting vegetables with a dressing always is an appropriate offering.

    For what it’s worth, I always have potluck anxiety.

    • mymotherstable 08/30/2010 at 2:48 am #

      Thanks so much, Kat. I’ll have the recipe up by tomorrow. Many, at the potluck, seemed to like it. Diane

  2. whatsfordinneracrossstatelines 09/02/2010 at 5:57 pm #

    What a great side dish, I will have to try this, my family would love it!
    -Gina-

    • mymotherstable 09/03/2010 at 3:30 am #

      Thank you! I really hope they do. Again, adjust for your taste, as I’m not always accurate with measurements–since I don’t use them. Only for baking. And, I don’t tend to do a lot of that. Let me know how it works out!
      Kaukab’s daughter

  3. Debbie 09/02/2010 at 6:12 pm #

    This looks great! I am always looking for green veggie sides for dinners. I’ll go grab the recipe now!

    • mymotherstable 09/03/2010 at 3:28 am #

      Thanks so much! I never know how it’ll work out when I’m just throwing this-and-that together. But, it seemed to work out. I thought I had used a bit too much lemon, but once it melded with the potatoes and beans, I kinda liked the extra zing. Just adjust to your taste, though. I promise, Kaukab’s daughter won’t mind.

Leave a Reply

