What’s Cookin’?

2 Sep

Apparently, not much.

Oh, I’ve been cooking the usual things: Why just today, I re-heated yesterday’s pasta with homemade alfredo and served that alongside some sauteed perch w/butter and lime.  Stir-fried some carrots and broccoli in a skillet with some olive oil and salt/pepper. Doesn’t sound fancy, I know.

I’ve been a little out of sorts, lately. I don’t know if it’s the summer turning in, or the start of our homeschooling–or maybe a bit of both.  But I can tell something is a bit off-kilter. That stir-fry I mentioned?  Under normal circumstances, it would have had a bit of spicy sesame oil sprinkled in, and a minimum of thinly sliced garlic, maybe even a bit of minced ginger. But, not today.

That fish?  Would’ve had a few more friends. Perhaps some sliced scallions and fresh cherry tomatoes tossed around toward its final stage of cooking? I don’t know. But, something!

Also, I haven’t  had  the chance to visit my local farmers’ market. I need to get there soon, as the days of summer are ticking away much too quickly. I’m not ready to bid them “farewell.”

Hmmm. What to cook?

6 Responses to “What’s Cookin’?”

  1. Agnes 09/06/2010 at 3:16 pm #

    I think we all have these times, no matter what it is we’re trying to create…

    • mymotherstable 09/07/2010 at 3:51 am #

      Good to know. Thanks, Agnes. What have you been cooking lately?

      Kaukab’s daughter

  2. Kat 09/06/2010 at 4:11 pm #

    When in doubt, I go with homemade pizza – it gives me the chance to feel I’ve been productive (making the crust), and still allows me to spend time getting other things accomplished because you can literally throw whatever you find in your pantry/fridge onto it. Everyone feels taken care of, and it saves your sanity.

    • mymotherstable 09/07/2010 at 3:49 am #

      That sounds like a really good idea. My hubby tends to be the dough-making one in the family.

      You know, Kaukab used to make all her dough, but in the last several years, she’s used the frozen bread dough and it makes really nice pizza.

      Thanks, Kat.

      Kaukab’s daughter

  3. Agnes 09/09/2010 at 3:04 pm #

    Not a lot of anything interesting, really. Alex has been cooking some nights, which is very welcome. She’s really good at throwing stuff in a pan and making it taste good. She also is partial to baking and seems to have a basic cookie/cake recipe in her head, which she just tweaks enough to make life spicy.
    However: I AM feeling much more inspired to cook again now that the cooler weather is arriving. Hello, crock pot!

    (Very sorry to have missed you on Saturday!)

    • mymotherstable 09/09/2010 at 5:28 pm #

      Sorry about that. Too many people, too little time.

      Yes, the crockpot!

      Kaukab’s daughter

Leave a Reply

