A Return To Fall Food–Oven BBQ Ribs

9 Sep

Oven-BBQ Ribs w/ tumeric-infused rice, sauteed broccoli

 

It’s that time of year for cooking comfort food.  Stews. Soups. Slow-cooked meats.

I’ve usually shyed away from cooking ribs, no matter the cooking method. I could never seem to figure out how to get them tender enough, yet maintain a saucy exterior. Well, I think I finally figured it out.

I made my own sauce, consisting of ketchup, grape jelly, dijon mustard, garlic salt, lime juice, canola oil, and ginger. If I had soy sauce, I would have used a bit of that, as well.

The Ingredients

 

I whisked them together in a large bowl and then placed the boneless ribs in them, making sure they were coated thoroughly. I then dumped them into a large rectangular pan, sealed the pan tightly with foil, and placed them in a preheated 350 degree oven.

Ready to Go In Oven

 

After an hour, I checked on them. I turned the little, saucy things over, then re-sealed the pan and cooked for an additional hour, keeping them covered.  (After the first hour, you’ll see quite a bit of liquid. No worries. At the end of the second hour, you’ll see that much of the liquid has reduced and thickened.) Make sure to baste these little creatures when you check on them at the end of each hour.

After two hours, I turned down the oven to 325 degrees, while I got to preparing the rice and broccoli. (Another 15 – 20 minutes, tops.)

Just before I serve them, I hit the broiler setting, uncover the ribs and finish them off under the broiler, maybe 5 min. Baste with their sauce one last time.

Ready For Their Brief Broil

 

I serve these with long grain rice that I infused with a smidgeon of tumeric (the boys really like the rice’s bright, yellow color), along with sauteed broccoli with lemon.

Rice w/ Tumeric

 

Broccoli Sautée

 

These were first parboiled, then drained, put back in their pan, on med. high heat, and sauteed in olive oil, sea salt, cracked pepper, and big squeeze of lemon. I think a bit of red pepper flakes would have been nice, but there was none to be found.

Kaukab made her broccoli by boiling it until tender, draining, then tossing with olive oil, minced garlic, lemon, and salt. That’s how we grew up eating the stuff. No Velveeta-laden broccoli at her house.  I usually make the broccoli her way, but the last few times I elected to do it this way, and the kids seem to like the change.

I don’t think we need to tell Kaukab about it, though.

6 Responses to “A Return To Fall Food–Oven BBQ Ribs”

  1. Agnes 09/09/2010 at 3:07 pm #

    My dad always paired his barbeque ribs (delicious) with rice as well. This looks gorgeous — maybe I’ll provide Alex with recipe and ingredients and let her go to town.

    • mymotherstable 09/09/2010 at 5:32 pm #

      I always knew I liked your dad.

      P.S. To everyone out there…he’s a great cook!

      Have Alex take a whirl, and then post me some pics, okay?

      Oh, and if you could have her in an apron, all the better!

      Kaukab’s daughter

  2. Agnes 09/10/2010 at 6:02 pm #

    I will. She has her very own apron, decorated with little cupcakes and things.

  3. Kat 09/12/2010 at 12:47 pm #

    God, I just adore BBQ ribs. I only learned about pairing them with rice a year or so ago from my fiance’s family? In my fam (we’re Minnesotans) we hit it with some coleslaw and some form of potato, depending on our mood.

    I’ve done red pepper flakes before in sauteed broccoli – if you’re craving the spice, they’re perfect!

    • mymotherstable 09/13/2010 at 4:46 am #

      Good to know! I’ve already made a note of the little flakes on my blackboard. The trick shall be to remember to buy.

      Yeah, my favorite rice is basmati. Unfortunately, didn’t have in the pantry that day.

      Kaukab’s daughter

Leave a Reply

