Look Who’s Cookin’?

21 Oct

My, My...That Apron Sure Looks Familiar

 

Violin girl decided to break out the box of raspberry bar mix to placate her sweet tooth, along with her brothers.’  On closer inspection, violin girl also decided to break out my apple apron. She said it made her “a better baker.” 

Next Best Thing to Homemade

 

Here’s the thing. I’m not much of a baker, as I’ve mentioned previously. Oh, sure, I can make a nice dessert, if I want to take the time to do so, but I don’t really enjoy the baking process. All the measuring and such wears on me. I much rather toss things about, drizzling and stirring–being a part of the cooking process from start to finish.

So, when someone offers to bake a treat for the family, I say, “Go right ahead; you have my blessing!” I’m even willing to toss in an apron for your trouble.

Courtesy of Violin Girl

 

These are easy. No recipe required. Just the box.

Of course…Kaukab doesn’t bake with boxes.

8 Responses to “Look Who’s Cookin’?”

  1. Agnes 10/21/2010 at 1:30 pm #

    I like that brand. I didn’t know they did a raspberry bar mix. They also make a nice cinnamon coffee cake, to which I add apples if I’m too lazy to make an apple cake from scratch. Actually, now that I mention it, violin girl was over at our place once when I made that particular cake — and I remember she was a fan.
    Talking of apple cakes, I found a recipe for a toffee apple cake a couple weeks ago… really good.

  2. mymotherstable 10/21/2010 at 5:30 pm #

    Yum. I like anything with freshly baked apples. Toffee makes it even better.

    Say…you got any apple bread pudding recipes over there, Miss Agnes?

    Kaukab’s daughter

  3. Agnes 10/21/2010 at 7:59 pm #

    Nope, and I’ve never actually attempted bread pud myself. Apple bread pud sounds gorgeous, and we could maybe incorporate the toffee into it… *drool*…
    In the meantime, here’s the link to the toffee apple cake, in case anyone’s interested:
    http://technicolorkitcheninenglish.blogspot.com/2009/03/apple-cake-with-toffee-crust.html

    • mymotherstable 10/22/2010 at 4:00 am #

      Thanks so much for leaving the site, Agnes! Say, would your beau be willing to tattoo a bowl of bread pudding on our…um…forearms? That way, we could stare at it while we sit, writing blog stuff at the computer. Perhaps, he could add some sort of buttery-apple aroma to the dye? That would be so appreciated. Thanks, Agnes.

      Kaukab’s daughter

  4. Agnes 10/22/2010 at 1:00 pm #

    Sure. He’d tattoo anything on anyone for the right price. But the aroma ink probably isn’t approved for use on humans yet.

    • mymotherstable 10/22/2010 at 4:28 pm #

      Sorry to hear. Perhaps we could submit a grant to the Society of Tattoo Artists for further research consideration?

      Kaukab’s daughter

  5. Lilly 10/27/2010 at 1:09 am #

    Tatoos aside, I love the apron AND the kitchen…visiting you in spirit right now.

    • mymotherstable 10/27/2010 at 4:00 am #

      Lilleeeey!!!!!

      How are you, darlinkh?

      Do, please reconsider joining our Tattoo Society. Perhaps a tattoo of one of your lovely garden specimens? Just a little something behind the ear?

      Thank goodness, the kitchen floor is photogenic. He’s much scrungier in person. He’s actually afraid of meeting Kaukab, if that day should ever arrive. I think you would agree?

      Kaukab’s daughter

Leave a Reply

