“Sixteen Candles”

6 Nov

Violin girl celebrated her “sweet sixteen” birthday yesterday. Actually, as I was writing this, she was in the living room with some of her girl pals, watching what was left of the “naked men” movie, i.e., “A Room With A View.” She and one of her pals had dubbed it such after violin girl had described to her the one scene in which a few “gentlemen” had frolicked about the pasture, after bathing in the nearby pond.  Gotta love those British period movies.

For her party, violin girl had requested that we create a Middle Eastern feast, set mostly in the Old Testament times. Doesn’t every modern girl want one of these? Actually, it came about after violin girl had overheard some pals mentioning something about the Bible verse, John 3:16 and rather than hearing the “3:16” part, she had heard, “sweet 16,” thus her “John Sweet Sixteen” biblically-themed party. Got that?

Sweet Sixteeners

 

For the feast, we started with a platter of dates, grapes, and pommegranates, plus hummous with an Indian flatbread that I grilled over the gas flame. Then, gyros with yogurt/cucumber/garlic/mint sauce, tomatoes and green onions, and leaf lettuce.  Basmati rice, cooked with a bit of tumeric, accompanied them.

For dessert, there were cupcakes and these:

Almost like Kaukab's

 

I think these were comparable to her’s, except she’d tell you they weren’t buttery enough and that honey was used to sweeten them rather than making a simple syrup with part rose water. If they had even used orange blossom water, she might had been willing to forfeit the criticism. As Kaukab so often remarks, “Ah, whad you gonna do?”

What did I care?  I didn’t make ’em. *Zwing!* (Sorry. Too much espresso.)

The girls didn’t seem to mind, either.

Sorry, Kaukab.

Happy Birthday, Sweet Violin Girl.
Love, Kaukab’s Daughter
8 Responses to ““Sixteen Candles””

  1. Agnes 11/09/2010 at 2:08 pm #

    I love the ‘naked men’ movie.

  2. mymotherstable 11/10/2010 at 6:08 am #

    Or, is it just naked men, Agnes? Hmmm?

    I fear Kaukab’s shoe whipping around the corner.
    DUCK!

    Kaukab’s daughter

  3. Agnes 11/10/2010 at 9:58 pm #

    Naked men, in general? No.
    But I do love that film. I also like ‘Howard’s End’ very much. Two of my favorites.

    • mymotherstable 11/11/2010 at 4:31 am #

      Ah, yes. ‘Howard’s End’ is a very fine movie. I love Debra Winger. I think she tends to be underrated as an actress. As a cook? Not sure. Maybe Kaukab knows. Kaukab knows everything.

      As for the naked men, I think Kaukab would like for us to stop talking about such matters.

      Kaukab’s daughter

  4. Agnes 11/11/2010 at 1:57 pm #

    Hmmm… I am now confused. I certainly agree that Debra Winger is a good actress and she is probably underrated. I’ve always been fond of ‘An Officer and a Gentleman’ and she’s great in it.
    But what does she have to do with ‘Howards End’? I think all the major roles are played by Brits… *runs off to imdb it*… Yes, Helena Bonham Carter, Emma Thompson, Anthony Hopkins, etc., etc.
    Which leads me to wonder: What movie are YOU thinking of? Whatever it is, I’d like to see it.
    And I also feel compelled to mention naked men, at least one more time, just because you said Kaubab wouldn’t approve.
    AND if you want a connection between ‘Howards End’ and food, here it is: The Shlegel family always seem to be having tea and cakes/scones, or about to have tea and cakes/scones or some sort of nice little cozy late night supper at which they talk about high-minded things and I can only speculate on what they’re actually eating. I imagine some sort of compote and roasted meat. But maybe that just sounds good to me at this moment.

    • mymotherstable 11/12/2010 at 5:49 am #

      Drats! I knew I should’ve double-checked my movie sources before posting. You are such a movie wizard.

      ‘Shadowlands.’ That’s what I meant.

      Thank you, though, for filling me in on the foodstuffs of the other movie, as I was very curious. I shall have to rent such movie and then add to the movie list. ‘Shadowlands,’ I’m sure, had some foodstuffs, but I’m at a loss as to what they were. I guess I’ll have to watch two movies, then.

      Thank you, Agnes. Thank you, very much.

      Oh, and I do appreciate your poke at dear Kaukab. Of course, that means one less piece of baklava for you. Too bad. She makes the most buttery baklava this side of Lebanon.

      Kaukab’s daughter

  5. Agnes 11/16/2010 at 6:41 pm #

    NB – I don’t think Howards End really qualifies as food movie.

Leave a Reply

