Holiday Confusion

17 Nov

I’m hereby declaring an end to holiday switching.

Each holiday shall remain in its designated month.

No Thanksgiving cornucopia displays and turkey salt and pepper shakers brought out among the Halloween decorations in mid-September.

Out with Christmas wreaths dangling from city lightpoles before I’ve  had a chance to enjoy the Thanksgiving turkey.

I don’t want to see fake poinsettias and candy cane-marked cookie dough cylinders when I’m shopping for cranberries.

I can’t be bothered with thinking about what to cook for Christmas before I’ve even figured out what to prepare for Thanksgiving. 

It’s too much!  Even for Kaukab.

8 Responses to “Holiday Confusion”

  1. Agnes 11/17/2010 at 1:50 pm #

    Amen!

    • mymotherstable 11/18/2010 at 6:12 am #

      Kaukab wants to know what you’re cooking for Thanksgiving. Not really, though I am surely interested.

      Kaukab’s daughter

  2. Agnes 11/18/2010 at 2:57 pm #

    I think we’re having your standard fare… Alex wants to do most of it, so I’m letting her. I think she’ll let me do some of the grunt work — peeling potatoes, etc. We have a turkey and most of the other stuff we need, besides the fresh things. And you?

    • mymotherstable 11/20/2010 at 7:05 am #

      Good for Alex! Take some pics, if you’ve got the time, or inclination. Send them in. I’ll post ’em.

      Having Turkey Day out at the inlaws. Been appointed the salad, which I’ll make a nice creamy lemon-garlic dressing with homemade croutons. Will make another batch of cranberry sauce.

      Bought a large turkey on sale. 49 cents per lb.! It’s in the freezer. Will cook it Christmas day and eat it watching “A Christmas Story.”

      Kaukab’s daughter

  3. Agnes 11/22/2010 at 1:36 pm #

    Ah, A Christmas Story… I hope my parents either a) have it on DVD or b) can play US DVDs on their player. Otherwise someone’s going to be making a Christmas Eve visit to their local Blockbuster (or whatever rental place exists in Muswell Hill) to get it. It’s a staple for us!

    • mymotherstable 11/22/2010 at 6:36 pm #

      Muswell Hill. Sounds like a ‘Harry Potter’ kind of place.

      Kaukab’s daughter

  4. Agnes 11/22/2010 at 1:37 pm #

    And yes, I will snap some pics. She may even be wearing the cute little apron I got her.

Leave a Reply

