Tuesdays With Kaukab’s Daughter

20 Apr

Tuesdays represent a sort of achievement day for me. It means I’ve made it through another Monday–a day which usually begins with high expectations, only to reach day’s end with significantly lowered ones.

From Tuesday forward, I can return to a more realistic mindset. The world won’t stop spinning if I don’t get the laundry done on Day B, or I forget to enter today’s school notes. Sure, the cats may be a bit peeved if I’ve forgotten to buy more cat food, but it’s not like they’re without a natural gray, furry source of protein hiding out in the garden.

It’s taken me a long time to get to this place, and not every day, post Monday, magically morphs into a zen-like mindset. I need order. Maybe not as much as I once did, but I need some.

I’ve heard it said that people generally crave for things they lacked in their childhoods. If that’s the case, it would well explain my desire for list-making and organized chaos. I must be able to locate a writing instrument at a moment’s notice–an item always MIA at Kaukab’s and not w0rthy of her attention.

Which begs the question: Are the things we deem important, that we deem checklist-worthy, really so? Or, are they like Kaukab’s missing pencil?

Leave a Reply

