A Royal Pain

27 Apr

Did you hear? A wedding of royal proportions is about to happen and we can all follow it on one big, fanstastical countdown plastered on major and minor news shows across the globe. No amount of detail has been left behind.

Curious minds have been happily placated with warehouse-sized amounts of information, down to Kate’s possible choices of toe nail polish.

While I’m sure Kate will become a wonderfully adept and principled princess, I, on the otherhand, will always be known to Kaukab as the “Queen.”  Queen of Sheba, to be more precise.

In most circles, being a queen, or princess generally bought you some level of respect or honor. But in Kaukab’s house, being of royal stature meant a place of disrespect, of dishonor. It was her way of putting one in her place–in my place–whenever I got the silly idea of buying something nice, or desiring something good for myself.

So, pardon me if I don’t get excited about the royal festivities. I’ll leave that for the other billion, or so of the world.

Leave a Reply

