Farmer Breakfast

20 Jul
Mid-East Style

Typically, an American breakfast doesn’t look remotely like the one pictured here. But, this American-born gal likes her breakfast with a Middle-Eastern twist. Especially when the farmers’ market has so many lusciously fresh produce.

 
Hidden under that freshly baked baguette (courtesy of my local bakery–Charleston Bakery, just down the block from the farmers’ market) are two olive-oil soaked slabs of roasted eggplant topped with equally-soaked roasted onions–both oven roasted the day before. I placed them on my baguette straight out of their refrigerated container as pictured here:
Notice how soft and shiny they are. If only I had planned better I could have added some nice basil and crumbled feta, or that crumbled feta with bits of sun-dried tomatoes and basil. Oregano could be just as good, too. Traditionally, we eat the eggplant on pita bread, whereby said bread would soak up the excess olive oil (although, “excess” is a relative word in my circle). We did so last night. And then we ran out. I’m fairly certain Kaukab would have been appalled. One must never run out of pita bread. Not ever.
 
No matter. My breakfast hit the spot. Perhaps, I’m more tolerant of other bread families than is Kaukab. But, I’ll just leave that to my wonderment.
 
 
Leave a Reply

