Pumpkins for Kibbee

4 Oct

Kaukab phoned on Saturday to tell me the following:

1. It real cold out up here. Yep.

2. Lilly put out lotta decorations for Halloween. She have a smoke and someteeng make noise.

3. Me, I no give candy out since you were kids. It cost too much.

4. Mark (the neighbor) wanna pick me up some pumpkins. What for I need pumpkin?

5. Your Aunt Virgeenia no live at her house. David’s (her grown son) dogs push her out the kitchen door and she fall down. She livin’ wit her daughter, now.

6. I gotta nice couch downstairs, now. I pull out the bottom and put my feet up.

7. I not like the big turkey; they too dry. Well, that because they all old. I make a small one dis year. What for? No one come over an eat, anyway. (Insert guilt here.) But, I like to have some for leftover.

8. You have cold down dere?

9. I don’t watch Dr. Oz anymore. Too much bad tings on.

10. I tell Mark, bring me two pumpkin an I make him some kibbee. Eh, I put dem on the porch.

Just thought you’d like to know.

4 Responses to “Pumpkins for Kibbee”

  1. Lilly 10/06/2011 at 1:10 am #

    Response to #2:
    Lilly has NO decorations up yet! The smoke and noise would be from the house next door— put up at the beginning of September by Eddy,the oldest big kid I know.

    • mymotherstable 10/06/2011 at 4:13 am #

      Thank you for clarifying, Lilly. Kaukab was talking about your past decoration follies…in an effort to supercede my past decoration follies I had attempted to mention during this phone conversation. Think of it as our version of “Lost in Translation.”

      Kaukab’s daughter

  2. Agnes 10/06/2011 at 12:34 pm #

    What is kibbee?

    • mymotherstable 10/09/2011 at 3:04 am #

      Ah, kibbee. It’s a mixture of very, very lean ground beef, diced onions, and bulghur wheat (very fine grain size), along with various spices, like cinnamon and nutmeg. It can be eaten raw or pan-baked. It can also be made into small patties or football-shaped morsels, stuffed with a fried mixture of onions, lean ground beef, pine nuts, and the spices noted earlier. I haven’t made any, in part, because I’m too afraid they won’t measure up to Kaukab’s. Worse, that she’ll find out, somehow. It is my hope to try, at some point.

      Kaukab’s daughter

Leave a Reply

